Dharwad Constituency Gears Up for Lok Sabha Polls: 17,91,386 Voters to Exercise Their Rights

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

Dharwad: As the Election Commission of India announced the dates for the Lok Sabha elections on Saturday, Dharwad Deputy Commissioner Divya Prabhu revealed that the Dharwad Lok Sabha constituency boasts a total of 17,91,386 eligible voters. Among these, 8,99,246 are male, 8,92,043 are female, and 97 belong to other gender identities.

Comprising eight assembly constituencies—Kundagol, Kalaghatagi, Hubballi-Dharwad (Central), Hubballi-Dharwad (East), Hubballi-Dharwad (West), Navalgund, Dharwad, and Shiggaon—the Dharwad Lok Sabha constituency is set to witness a significant electoral process.

According to Prabhu, the Gazette notification for the elections will be issued on April 12, with the last date for filing nominations set for April 19. Nomination scrutiny will take place on April 20, and the deadline for withdrawal of nominations is April 22. Polling is scheduled for May 7, with the counting of votes and result declaration slated for June 4.

In terms of demographics, the Dharwad Lok Sabha constituency comprises 31,412 young voters, 15,833 voters aged above 85, and 20,474 physically challenged voters.

Breaking down the voter statistics across assembly constituencies:

– Hubballi-Dharwad (West) leads with 2,71,257 voters, with females outnumbering males at 1,38,268 to 1,32,983.

– Hubballi-Dharwad (Central) has 2,56,632 voters, including 1,29,725 females.

– Hubballi-Dharwad (East) accounts for 2,14,626 voters, with 1,08,361 females.

– Kundagol constituency has 1,89,434 voters, with 92,554 females.

– Kalaghatagi constituency has 1,97,171 voters, including 95,983 females.

– Dharwad has 2,20,471 voters, with 1,10,068 females.

– Navalgund has 2,10,783 voters, with 1,04,504 females.

– Shiggaon constituency comprises 2,31,012 voters, including 1,12,580 females.

The constituency is equipped with polling stations distributed as follows: Hubballi-Dharwad (West) – 269, Kalaghatagi – 228, Hubballi-Dharwad (East) – 215, Hubballi-Dharwad (Central) – 258, Dharwad – 234, Kundagol – 214, Navalgund – 234, and Shiggaon – 241.

In past elections, the voter turnout in the Dharwad Lok Sabha constituency has been noteworthy. In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, it witnessed a turnout of 65.99%. This increased to 70.29% in the 2019 Lok Sabha election and further to 73.45% in the last assembly election.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Back to top button