Bharat Ratna for Charan Singh, Narasimha Rao, and Dr. Swaminathan

NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced on Friday that the prestigious Bharat Ratna award would be conferred upon former Prime Ministers Chaudhary Charan Singh and P.V. Narasimha Rao, along with renowned agricultural scientist Dr. M.S. Swaminathan. The announcement was made through the Prime Minister’s official communication channel.

Expressing joy over the recognition of P.V. Narasimha Rao, PM Modi highlighted his extensive service to India in various capacities, citing his leadership as Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Union Minister, and his pivotal role as a Member of Parliament and Legislative Assembly. Narasimha Rao’s visionary leadership, especially during his tenure as Prime Minister, was credited with opening India to global markets and fostering economic development.

In honoring Chaudhary Charan Singh, PM Modi emphasized the former Prime Minister’s lifelong dedication to the welfare of farmers. Singh’s contributions as Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Home Minister of the country, and his steadfast opposition to the Emergency were acknowledged. His commitment to democracy and advocacy for farmers left an indelible mark on the nation.

Dr. M.S. Swaminathan, the renowned agricultural scientist, was lauded for his monumental contributions to Indian agriculture and farmers’ welfare. Recognizing his pivotal role in achieving agricultural self-reliance and modernization, PM Modi commended Dr. Swaminathan’s leadership, which ensured the nation’s food security and prosperity.

The Prime Minister highlighted Dr. Swaminathan’s role as an innovator, mentor, and advocate for learning and research in the field of agriculture.

Back to top button