This is the title of the web page
This is the title of the web page

Live Stream

May 2023

| Latest Version 9.4.1 |

Politics News

JD-S Announces HP Swaroop as Candidate for Hassan Seat, Overlooking Bhavani Revanna

HD KumaraswamyHD Kumaraswamy

Bengaluru: The Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) has announced its second list of 50 candidates for the upcoming assembly elections on Friday.

The party has fielded H P Swaroop for the crucial Hassan seat, overlooking Bhavani Revanna, the daughter-in-law of JD-S patriarch and former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda.

The Hassan seat had become a major bone of contention within the Gowda family, with Bhavani Revanna’s husband and sons supporting her candidature, while JD-S leader H D Kumaraswamy repeatedly stating that she would not be fielded. Kumaraswamy announced Swaroop’s name as the candidate for Hassan, stating that it was finalized with the consent of Revanna and Bhavani Revanna, and with the blessings of H D Deve Gowda.

The rift within the Gowda family over the Hassan ticket had widened, with Kumaraswamy invoking the battle of ‘Kurukshetra’ to allege that some were trying to brainwash his brother Revanna. Gowda, who has not been actively involved in politics due to health issues, had recently stepped in to hold discussions with his sons and Bhavani Revanna, but the deadlock could not be resolved. Revanna has since maintained that Gowda’s word would be final on the issue.

The JD-S has also announced other candidates in the second list, including sitting MLAs and former party members who have returned after being denied tickets in other parties this includes YSV Datta, who joined the Congress from JD(S) and has recently joined the JD(S) after Congress denied him ticket.

The party had announced its first list of 93 candidates in December. Kumaraswamy has been keen on fielding H P Swaroop from Hassan, which is the home district of Deve Gowda and a key constituency for the JD-S. In the 2018 Assembly polls, the JD-S had won six out of seven segments in Hassan, except the Hassan Assembly seat, which was won by the BJP.

The Hubli Express is on WhatsApp now, you can join the WhatsApp group by clicking the link >>>>>  >>>>>>> You can follow us on Facebook @HubliExpress



Leave a Reply