This is the title of the web page
This is the title of the web page

Live Stream

June 2023

| Latest Version 9.4.1 |

Hubballi / Dharwad

Dharwad District: Preparations in Place for Transparent and Peaceful Counting of Votes

DC Gurudatta HegdeGurudatt Hegade

Dharwad: The recently concluded Karnataka state assembly election saw a voter turnout of 73.45 percent, with 11,18,750 voters casting their votes in the seven assembly constituencies in Dharwad.

The Deputy Commissioner of Dharwad, Gurudatta Hegde, has announced that the counting of votes will begin at 8 am on May 13th at the vote counting center located in the main building of Dharwad Agricultural University.

In a press conference held at the counting center, he said that all necessary measures have been taken to ensure that the counting process is conducted transparently and impartially.

The counting center has been equipped with separate entrances for candidates, candidates’ representatives, media personnel, counting staff, and senior officials related to the election.

The premises are under 24-hour CCTV surveillance, and security arrangements have been made to maintain peace and order on the day of vote counting. Paramilitary and state police forces have provided three rounds of security to the center. The District Collector stated that precautionary measures have been taken to avoid any untoward incidents or violations of rules.

All candidates arriving at the counting center, as well as their agents and election officers, and journalists are required to wear their identity cards compulsorily. They are also advised to follow the designated routes and entrances to maintain order and cooperation during the counting process.

The counting staff has already received training to facilitate smooth and transparent counting of votes. A total of 375 individuals, including supervisors, counting assistants, and observers, have been assigned to the vote counting process. Fourteen tables have been allocated for each constituency, and the counting process is expected to proceed without any confusion.

The District Collector also stated that more than 6,000 postal ballots have already been received, and approximately 8,500 postal ballots are expected to arrive. As per the rules of the Election Commission, postal ballots can be received until 7:59 am on May 13th, the day of vote counting.

To maintain peace and order, the Prohibitory Order under Section 144 of CrPC 1973 has been implemented across the Dharwad district from 6 am on May 13th to 6 am on May 14th. No victory celebrations will be allowed in the counting center or in the surrounding area. The deputy commissioner warned that appropriate legal action would be taken against those who violate the restraining order.

The Hubli Express is on WhatsApp now, you can join the WhatsApp group by clicking the link >>>>>  >>>>>>> You can follow us on Facebook @HubliExpress



Leave a Reply